I am back

It’s been an amazing holiday and time away. We got back in the early hours of yesterday followed by a massive diversion on the motorway, so didn’t get home until 3.30am. Such a sad day yesterday as it was our friends funeral so quick few hours sleep and back up to get ready.
He had an amazing send off. Such a wonderful man, his wife was one of my first friends when I moved here. A lovely lady who is from my original home town who moved away so we have lots in common. We’ve been friends for well over 20 years and our husbands forged a genuine friendship. We learned of his passing two weeks before we went away so we were worried we’d miss the funeral but as he died suddenly, his family have had to wait for coroners report so that delayed things. He died of an undiagnosed heart condition, only in his fifties and leaves behind a wonderful wife and two beautiful children. Yesterday they did him proud! So many thoughtful touches throughout the day and testimony to the man it was standing room only at his funeral service. The word legend is used so often now that it loses its impact, but I can honestly say listening to stories from other people, and sharing our memories of him, that he truly deserved that accolade.
My heart aches with sadness for his family and for our friendship group that will feel his loss. I’m grateful he didn’t suffer and that for him it was a quick ending. For those of us left behind we are charged with keeping his memory alive and continuing to have fun in his name. It’s what he would have wanted! Rest in peace my lovely friend you are already so very much missed!

I hope to post my thoughts about my time away over the next few days, but I wanted to get my thoughts out about this first.
Losing my friend has made me painfully aware that life is far too short.
I am well, I am happy and I am rested. Right now that’s all that is important.

2 thoughts on “I am back

  1. My thoughts and prayers are with you and the family. Hope they recover from the loss quickly.

    This is one of those times, I wished that there was a different button rather than “like” to click on. Does not sound right to click on “like” on hearing news about someone’s loss, but I still did it to record that I have read this post.

    Good to have you back Ava. Hope things change for the better as days progress.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

